My First Friday Night: La Vernia @ Wimberley

DCIM101GOPRO

Friday August 29th was my first attempt at capturing Texas High School Football From Above. My flight was mostly for practice, a chance to see what the old Phantom would do. The first thing I noticed is that at Wimberley (and most high school stadiums) the sun sets behind the the home section. I guess my next test will have to be after sunset under the lights. 

DCIM101GOPRO

I would describe myself as an overly cautious pilot. I don’t take chances. I don’t see myself flying while a game is under way. You won’t see me flying over a UT home game. In fact I would use an old sunday school lesson to illustrate my personal flight rules.

“Explain that a man was interviewing new drivers for his transportation company. The route was very dangerous and went along several steep cliffs through a mountain pass. The interviewer asked each man how close he could safely drive near the edge of the cliff. The first man responded, “I could drive within six inches of the edge.” The second man responded, “I could drive within two inches of the edge.” The third man responded, “I would stay as far away from the edge of the cliff as I possibly could.”

I’m a stay away from the edge kind of guy. That said, I still got some good images and some video of the teams taking the field.

 

2 thoughts on “My First Friday Night: La Vernia @ Wimberley

  1. also left a comment on the facebook site for Wimberley Valley Radio asking how long the drone can stay airborne. Can reply on the site: facebook.com/RadioWimberley or my email (I am the page editor) is below:

    Like

Leave a Reply

